Friday Five: March 8th

A lot of blogs I read and really thoroughly enjoy have a few litle gimmicky things they do that I consistently love, and because I’m jealous they thought them up first imitation is the highest form of flattery, I’ve been inspired to take their seeds of genius and plant them here.

Welcome to the first of these: the Friday Five!

I figure I can come up with five things from any given week that were so awesome/I dug so much that I can come up with two sentences to say about them.  Bonus, if I take pictures of all five it gives me an excuse to practice taking pictures with Bugboy the Snazmonster!

I’m so good at this multitasking thing.  Not.

SO GOOD

SO GOOD

1. Burt’s Bees Hand Salve
Oh. My. God. It’s winter and my hands are pitching a FIT.  My fingertips are peeling and I don’t even know why, and I’m pretty sure I look like Kevin Spacey in Se7en when he burns all his fingertips off with lye so Brad Pitt and Morgan Freeman can’t find his not-prints in the fingerprint-painting behind the real-painting.  This is a chronic problem, and every year I think I try everything to fix it and nothing ever does.

UNTIL NOW.

This was an impulse purchase when I was at Target; spoilers, I’ve actually never owned Burt’s Bees ANYTHING before and now I am an absolute convert.  The balm is thick and oily and smells like rosemary and makes my fingers feel like butter.

…in a good way.  That is a thing and I’m not crazy, I promise.

Essie - Lapiz of Luxury

2. Essie’s preeeetty spring colors
Technically, this stuff is from the week before last which is why I don’t have a reference picture of it on my nails (which are currently pigeon-y purple, a good second-best option).  And technically I don’t think it’s even one of this year’s new spring colors, but really.  Who’s keeping track.  It was another splurge, because it’s almost but not spring and goddammit I wanted periwinkle nails.

Plus, I had Extrabucks and a coupon and so it was FREE.  You can’t beat that.

Dunkin' Irish Cream

3. Dunkin’s Irish Cream
Not nearly as good as the real thing, and my mom thinks the coffee tastes like coconut.  But it’s still tasty, and the doughnut is still a doughnut that tastes sort of like Irish Cream.

Okay, yeah.  Sort of disappointing as far as things-that-taste-like-Irish-Cream go, and I could easily make it better if I did it myself.  But I got it on my way back from the gym and my legs were jello and I was a twitchy, sugar-crashed mess, so whatever.  I was happy.

Happy enough to not even care that the kid at the counter screwed up the coffee order big time.  I forgive you for that, East Granby Dunkin’ guy.  Three medium, all Irish Cream, all light and two sweet is a pretty pro order.  You’ll get there.

   

4. Gilmore Girls
New to my life?  No.  Not by a long shot.  I’ve been watching this show since I was thirteen.  I’m in love with this show.  This show completes me.

Last weekend I started marathon re-watching it, and I haven’t been able to stop.  In the meantime I’ve fallen behind on: the Walking Dead, White Collar, Once Upon a Time, Shameless, and 2 Broke Girls.  

Worth it?  Totally.  I feel like everything is sort of complete now.

I am a sucker for this man

5. Luke Bryan’s new spring break album
It’s that time of year.  Even if it doesn’t look like it it’s spring break time and I don’t even care what the weather has to say, sometime this weekend you’ll be able to find me sitting in the middle of the snow playing drinking a beer with “Take My Drunk Ass Home” blasting in my headphones.

I do what I want.

And that makes five!  Tune in next week for five (hopefully more interesting, sorry) favorites from my week.

Got any tips for next week’s five?  Tell me about the things you’re loving in the comments!

4 thoughts on “Friday Five: March 8th

  1. I love this idea! I’ve always wondered if I can pull off the gimmicky themed posts, but feel like I’ll run out of things to say and quit after a week or two. But maybe now is the time to try! 🙂

Leave a Reply

