Weeknight Dinners: Sirloin and Mushroom-Orzo Pilaf

YUM. BEEF.

Bless this beef.

Bless this beef.

Fact about my life that I haven’t mentioned yet and will make anyone who likes meat (probably) a little jealous: my family raises pigs and cows for the purposes of having the best beef and pork ever and hoarding it in our freezers.  Result: I am a complete meat snob.

Other result: steak night in my house is everyone’s favorite night.

Tonight it’s even better, since we’re having like Real Style steakhouse steak, with the pilaf and the greens and beef that’s just going to melt and I am so excited for my beef can you tell yet?

Okay so start with a steak.  If you happen to be us, it’s a nice sirloin off of Chuck Norris; if you’re not us, I am so, so sorry.

RAW BEEF-- I may not be able to control my salivation

RAW BEEF– I may not be able to control my salivation

Liberally salt and peppah.  Set aside; it’s ready for grilling.

Next, move on to the pilaf prep.  This means lots of mushroom slicing, onion chopping, and garlic mincing.

You don’t need a picture of that, right?

Then you can work on getting things ready for your green of choice; in our case, brussels cooked up with a little bit of bacon.

Thick-cut, obviously.  Dinner tonight is a carnivore's dream.

Thick-cut, obviously. Dinner tonight is a carnivore’s dream.

With about twenty minutes to go, get your steak on the grill.  Also, you should be minding your sprouts; the leafy bits that inevitably fall off will burn quick.

Sprooouts

Sprooouts

Right about now your pilaf should be getting some broth, also.  Unless you’re us, again, and don’t have broth in the house.

Pro-tip: in a pinch, mix 1 tablespoon of soy sauce for every 1 cup of water the recipe calls for.

Pro-tip: in a pinch, mix 1 tablespoon of soy sauce for every 1 cup of water the recipe calls for.

And then you just let that bad boy cook.

In news of missing out on a lot of photo ops on the pilaf...

In news of missing out on a lot of photo ops on the pilaf…

Steakhouse dinner is served!  Enjoy with your beer of choice.  In my case, it was the (non-photographed, sorry!) last of the Hooker Brewery Nor’Easter; I’m pretty sure it’s been jinxing us on the snow front by lurking in the fridge, so I figured I’d take one for the team and take care of it.

Yum.  Tasted even better than it looked.

Yum. Tasted even better than it looked.

Mushroom and Orzo Pilaf
adapted from Spicie Foodie

Ingredients

  • 1 lb orzo pasta
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 8 oz mushrooms, cut into eigths
  • 3 1/2 cups beef broth

Cooking Directions

  1. Heat 1 tablespoon olive oil in a medium Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Saute onions until translucent; add in your steak blood (anything that’s sitting in the bottom of the dish you’re holding it in; don’t fret if it’s not that much) and stir.
  2. Add in the mushrooms and cook until all liquid has evaporated; toss with the garlic and cook until fragrant. Push vegetables to the side and add the orzo; cook 2-3 minutes until just toasted, mixing as necessary.
  3. Add the broth and bring the pilaf up to a simmer. Season with salt and pepper and let cook at medium heat until all liquid has been absorbed.
  4. Stir in grated parmesan; garnish with fresh parsley. Serve with your (obviously) beautifully cooked steak, and enjoy!

Important Question of the Day: how do you take your steak?  Mooing (aka rare and bleeding) or dead and buried (aka on the well side)?

 

4 thoughts on “Weeknight Dinners: Sirloin and Mushroom-Orzo Pilaf

  1. Okay, we’re going to be out of town for a bit, so no opportunities to cook for a while, but damn! Next meal, I’m coming here. We raise our own beef, so as you know that equals extra DELICIOUS!

  2. Oh my….I am a big time meat lover! I’m drooling over your steak! Oh boy, I wish I can raise cows and pigs just to get the best meat on hand…and into my tummy, eventually. 😛

    • It really, truly cannot be beat. It’s really just an issue of having the space for it, though– you need a good piece of land to keep livestock. But it’s so worth it!
      Thanks for stopping in! 🙂

Leave a Reply

