Friday Five: March 15th

Ew.  I finished out my week with a doctor’s appointment, how gross is that.

But it’s cool.  I washed it down with ample doses of the following, plus a good swig of southern Irish cream.

2 for 5 at CVS!

I’m really not sure how it’s lasted this long.

1. Easter Candy
If you couldn’t tell from my gushing gushery about Essie’s pretty spring polishes in last week’s faves, I frakking love pastels.  Stick those pastels on the foil wrapper of a little piece of chocolate and you have the ammunition to cajole me into doing your bidding.

2 for 7 at CVS: Reese’s minis and almond Kisses.  I splurged and got them both, because who else is going to get me the contents of an Easter basket at 21?

So. Good.

So. Good.

2. Biscoff
I am really, really behind on the Biscoff bandwagon.  And I’m starting to think I should have stayed off it.  Probably what happened was there was a guardian angel type character keeping me from getting Biscoff for this long, and he met a tragic end the moment before I pulled this stuff off the shelves.

In case you’re unfamiliar with the magic of Biscoff, I’ll enlighten: it’s like if a cookie were made into peanut butter.  None of the nutritional value of protein.  All of the creaminess, and absolutely all of the delicious.

Half of me wants to take a bath in this stuff and die promptly afterwards.  I have a problem.

Such a pro, sifting with a spoon.

Kellerrrrrr

3. the Bouchon Bakery Cookbook
My library wants to overload me with my interlibrary loans this week, which is incredibly wonderful but terribly inconvenient being that I just picked up four novels to read.  I have too much to read!  And I feel like that shouldn’t be recognized as a legitimate problem, so you can look shamefully at me now.

I used the Bouchon cookbook over the weekend to make some pretty great brownies, so I’m counting this guy a success already.  I only have it for another week, though, so we’ll see how much baking I can cram in before it has to go back.  And I cry over its loss.

The funny thing is that she just mentioned Seabiscuit in the book. Lols ensued.

4. Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand
Things I did recently: joined a book club of twentysomething ladies who read.  I’m super excited to go to my first meeting, and as a result I’ve been devouring my first read (instead of all those other novels I have; there are now six. Help.)

I’m not generally HUGELY into biographies, but Unbroken is really pretty engaging so far.  It takes you through the life and Olympic career of Louie Zamperini, and all that prisoner-of-war stuff is sure to come once the war picks up.  He’s training for the 1940 Tokyo games right now, and I am just waiting on the edge of my seat for the other shoe to drop.

5. the Skimm
Don’t tell anyone, but I’ve been cheating at the news and it is awesome.

Yes, I have time during my day to rummage around the internet and be very well-informed by the time I get home from work.  But I’d really rather spend that time drooling on Pinterest and checking up on my feeds, because…food is pretty tasty, essentially.  Enter Skimm: they send you an email a day with top news items of that day, conveniently linked to source articles for you to peruse at your leisure!  I will never be uninformed again, thanks to them.

Honorable Mention: #6, you guys!
I’ve been at P&P for just over a week now, and I love love LOVE being able to write out little stories about the things I’m eating and my life in general.  It’s great for me, since I haven’t gotten to write this much in ages and the therapeutic factor is a major plus.  But what’s quickly turning out to be the best part is you guys; likes, comments, and follows are not only incredibly encouraging for a fledgling blog like mine, but they stir up the kind of warm fuzzy feelings of knowing that someone is reading and appreciating what you’ve written.  That’s the part of blogging I was most excited to be a part of, and I’m thrilled that it’s taken off so quickly– and it just makes me even more excited to keep on this road with you guys.

So thank you, basically.

Anyway, enough mush.  Regular food blogging commences tomorrow, but in the meantime I’m dying to know…what have you been enjoying this week?

Leave a Reply

