Simple Spring Southern..Sustenance

I couldn’t think of a good word for “lunch” that started with an S.

Humble food for humble people.

Humble food for humble people.

It’s starting to warm up, which means my tongue is daydreaming about all kinds of things.  Fruit, mostly; peach season can’t come soon enough.  Sun tea makes pretty frequent appearances in my tongue’s daydreams; so does corn on the cob and watermelon and ribs.

Today I figured it was nice enough to stick my toe into the waters of things-I-want-to-eat-in-the-summer.  In celebration, lunch was a quick and easy bowl of grits and fruit and nuts and just…deliciousness in general.

Grits - prepare

I haven’t had grits in a really long time; not since we went to North Carolina, probably, and that was when I was nine.  But I loove them.  I love the grainy texture and the starchy stickiness; it’s like the less refined but equally humble-wonderful cousin of oatmeal.

(I know it makes more sense to say ‘it’s the less refined but equally humble-wonderful cousin of polenta’ but let’s face it, the food community has decided to de-humble polenta in recent years.  Polenta is out of the humble-grain running, here.)

They’re also super easy to make.  3/4 of a cup of boiling water plus 1/4 cup of grits and about a minute of my life got me a nice, fluffy looking lunch.

Okay, so they look pretty sad on their own but don't judge them until you've eaten them!

Okay, so they look pretty sad on their own but don’t judge them until you’ve eaten them.

Of course, grits on their own are only as good as what you put into them.  Screw that butter and sugar and cheese nonsense, though; it’s still April, which still means my tongue is in full berry-mode.

Think I went to heavy with the mixins?

Think I went to heavy with the mixins?

Think again.  Mixing makes it all better.

Think again. Mixing makes it all better.

There you have it; quick and easy Sunday lunch, from my humble kitchen to yours.  Go out, enjoy the day, and make yourself something that makes you feel good, why don’t you?

Or at least curl up with a book that you won’t realize is completely appropriately themed to your lunch until you crack the cover.

The back blurb reviews say it's a peach,  I am beside myself.

The back blurb reviews say it’s a peach, I am beside myself.

 

PS: don’t mind the blog renovations too much; they’ll be finished before too long.  Cute new layout, though, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

